Congregational Leadership

We have great leaders, and we are all leaders.

Board Members

The Board of Trustees consists of 24 elected members and up to three Presidential Appointees, as well as the Executive Officers of the congregation, the Immediate Past President, and past presidents. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall governance of the congregation. The Board works closely with the Klei Kodesh (senior staff) to set direction, policies, and procedures as well as create long-term planning for the congregation.


Officers and Board of Trustees 2021-2022


President – Karen Isaacson (third year of term)
Vice President – Lee Weintraub (third year of term)
Second Vice President – Caryn Etkin (third year of term)
Treasurer – Stephen Reiches (third year of term)
Secretary – Susan Fisher (second year of term)
Foundation President – Jeff Mann (eighth year of nine year term)

Board Members (Board Members serve three-year term)

First Year of Term
Richard Berger
Sandra Cutler
Judy Caplan
Ben Freed
Mari Greenberger
Michelle Oxman
Jane Wintroub

Second Year of Term
Pablo Durango-Cohen
Tamar Karsh-Fogel
Jessica Kaplan
Marti Netler
Gina Speckman
Noel Sucherman
Shaina Young
Joshua Zorger

Third Year of Term
Judy Duesenberg
Dick Axelrod
Mark Caro
Nisan Chavkin
Ted Goldsmith*
Sara Hartman-Seeskin**
Elaine Lev
Helayne Levin
Barry Miller**
Alex Weiner

*Presidential Appointee to the Board of Trustees
**Presidential Appointee to the Executive Committee

Past Presidents

* Sidney Mogul 1950-1952
* Mason Loundy 1952-1954
* Lee K. Thorpe 1954-1957, 1966-67
* Sol Weiner 1957-1967
Sidney Waller 1958-1960
Leon Shear 1960-1961
Conrad Orloff 1961-1963
* Samuel Sherwin 1963-1966
* Jacob Gross 1967-1969
* Paul Hansfield 1969-1971
Walter Director 1971-1973

*denotes deceased

* Jacob Ginsburg 1973-1975
* Fred Richter 1975-1977
* Richard Rhodes 1977-1979
Richard Loundy 1979-1981
* Edward Yalowitz 1981-1983
* Sophie K. Black 1983-1985
Joel Wineberg 1985-1987
Lawrence M. Cohen 1987-1989
* Robert Romain 1989-1991
* Andrew Melczer 1991-1993
David Zarefsky 1993-1995

Patricia S. Gerbie 1995-1997
* Phillip Pollack 1997-1999
Rosalie Greenberger 1999-2001
Robert Render 2001-2003
John Levin 2003-2005
Phil Bashook 2005-2007
Mort Denlow 2007-2009
Susan Melczer 2009-2011
Sharon Ephraim 2011-2013
David Graham 2013-2016
Ross Bricker 2016-2019

Foundation Board of Directors

Jeff Mann, President
Sarah Chavkin, Treasurer
Adam Prawer-Stock, Secretary
Rob Derdiger
Matt Feldman
Ellen Frank-Miller
Mike Isaacson
Stephen Reiches
Todd Wiener