Beth Emet - The Free Synagogue

Beth Emet is a diverse, multigenerational Reform community with a dynamic approach to Judaism. Our congregation seeks to create a spiritually vibrant, socially conscious, intellectually challenging, and deeply caring environment firmly rooted in Jewish tradition and values.

BE Connected logo

Most recent BE Connected email:   June 1

BE Connected is a way for the members of our congregation to meet one another and engage during this time of physical distancing. BE Connected provides the opportunity for our members to come together virtually, as well as opportunities for conversation around various topics. From movies to meditation to learning, we hope you will open your email each Monday to learn what's happening in the coming week. 

Links to prior BE Connected programs:

Inspiring Sparks for Spiritual Self Care with Ellen Blum Barish 
Sunday, May 31

Kabbalat Shabbat celebrating Kabbalat Torah students (12th graders) 
Friday, May 29

The Nature of Prayer – What are we really doing? with Alden Solovy 
Thursday, May 28

Computer Technology Tips with Paul Isaacson 
Wednesday, May 27

Movies with Mark: His Girl Friday 
Monday, May 25

Havdalah and Hummus demonstration with Shlomit Hoch
Saturday, May 23

Michael Fine's D'var Torah
Friday, May 22
May is Mental Health Awareness month, and Michael Fine will speak about his journey coping with his mental illness. He has an incredible story and a great deal of wisdom to impart.

Current Politics with David Zarefsky
Wednesday, May 20

Recital and Havdalah with Beth Reinstein, Cantorial Soloist
Saturday, May 16

Broadway Songs Sung by Barbara Davis
Tuesday, May 12

Movies with Mark:  Hell or High Water
Monday, May 11

Cleaning Your Tech Closet with Paul Isaacson
Wednesday, May 6

Cooking with Mike Kuhn
Tuesday, May 5

Pilates Class #1 with Elsa Gould
Monday, May 4

Movies with Mark Caro:  You Can Count On Me
Monday, April 27

Beth Emet Earth Day
Sunday, April 26

Cleaning Your Financial Closet with Shari & Steve Reiches
Wednesday, April 22

Haircut and Hangout with Elsa Gould
Tuesday, April 21

Beth Emet Annual Meeting
Monday, April 20

 

Quick Links

 

Be in Touch

If you are in need of support or are concerned about another member of our community, please let us know so we can reach out. We are all concerned about each other’s well-being and want to be present for each other. Please let Rabbi Memis-Foler know.

Also, please send pictures of you celebrating Shabbat. We’d like to make an online album so we can share in each other’s joy. Send your pictures to Bekki Kaplan.

 

 

FacebookTwitterYoutube@bethemetevanston

 

be-slide-simchat-torah

 

 

Beth Emet is a diverse, multigenerational Reform community with a dynamic approach to Judaism. Our congregation seeks to create a spiritually vibrant, socially conscious, intellectually challenging, and deeply caring environment firmly rooted in Jewish tradition and values.

  • A Close Look at Torah

    with Rabbi Andrea London
    Fridays, through June 12 | 9:30 a.m. - 10:35 a.m. (No class May 29)
    via Zoom (or call 312-626- 6799 Meeting ID: 657 819 679)

    There are many ways to interpret Torah and the nuances of meaning that are o...

Video 1 640 x 480

video bethemet capital.campaign

{modal url="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ZnW3hbpgOdQ?rel=0&showinfo=0" width="853" height="480" title="Beth Emet: The Free Synagogue"}