beth emet new banner logo 72res 450

Beth Emet is a diverse, multigenerational Reform community with a dynamic approach to Judaism. Our congregation seeks to create a spiritually vibrant, socially conscious, intellectually challenging, and deeply caring environment firmly rooted in Jewish tradition and values.

Board of Directors

2017 / 5777 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORTnew BE logo white

TRUSTEES TO SERVE IN 2017-2018 (5777-5778)

In accord with the relevant provisions of the Beth Emet Constitution and By-Laws indicated below, the Nominating Committee is pleased to recommend the following Officers and Trustees as the slate for election to the Board at the Annual Meeting on Tuesday, April 18, 2017.

President - Ross Bricker
Vice President - Stopher Bartol
Vice President - Rebecca Raus
Treasurer - Rob Levin
Secretary - Allison Aaron
Foundation Board President - Jeff Mann


for Election to a Third Term
Hillary Coustan
Ariel Goldfarb
Daniel Sachs
Richard Steele

for Election to a Second Term

Simon Anolick
Etahn Cohen
Danielle Crown Pfeifer
Jennifer Drake
Michael Finnegan
Ellen Frank-Miller
Elsa Gould
Bob Graham
Marc Hilton
Roger Price

for Election to a First Term

Mark Antman
Jeff Bergman
Jack Levie
Jeff Mackevich
Michael Mitzen
Doug Oettinger
Shari Reiches
David Rubman
Barbara Schoenfield
Georgene Wilson

The Board of Trustees consists of 24 elected members and up to three Presidential Appointees, as well as the Executive Officers of the congregation, the Immediate Past President, and past presidents.  The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall governance of the congregation. The Board works closely with the Klei Kodesh (senior staff) to set direction, policies and procedures as well as create long-term planning for the congregation. 

2017-2018 Board of Trustees


  • Ross Bricker, President

    Ross Bricker and his wife, Nina Vinik, joined Beth Emet shortly after moving to Evanston in 1996.  They are the proud parents of four sons and one daughter including Teddy, a food truck owner and chef in Austin, Texas; Nat,...

  • Stopher Bartol, Vice President

    Stopher and his wife, Sheryl, have been members of Beth Emet for 16 years. They have three children: Julia (18), Ben (15), and Andrew (11), who’ve all participated in Beth Emet’s religious school. Stopher, not born a Jew, o...

  • Rebecca Raus, Vice President

    Rebecca and her husband Gregg have been members of Beth Emet for 28 years. Rebecca started attending Shabbat services while at Northwestern University and learned to chant torah with then Cantor Jeffrey Klepper, so it was a...

  • Rob Levin, Treasurer

    Rob and his wife Lisa have been involved with Beth Emet for many years.  They have five children: Andrew (21), Maddie (20), Jason (20), Drew (18) and Max (15), all participating in either Beth Emet’s religious school and/or...

  • David Graham, Immediate Past President

    David Graham and his wife, Lizzie, have been members of Beth Emet for 24 years. They have each served on the Board of Trustees and also co-chaired the Mitzvah Appeal together. David also co-chaired the Board’s Strategic Pla...

  • Allison Aaron, Secretary

    Allison and her husband, Todd, have been members of Beth Emet since 2006. Their children Jack (16) and Lily (13) both had their mitzvahs at Beth Emet and Lily is still engaged in Gesher.  Allison was involved in the synagog...


FacebookTwitterYoutubeListen Live


  • Mitzvah Appeal 5778 - The Power of Six


    WHY SIX? The sixth letter of the Hebrew alphabet is the vav,* a letter shaped like a hook. A hook holds two things together. The Hebrew translation...

  • Help Those in Puerto Rico Who Need Our Help

    Deadline extended to October 30

    The pictures in the news are mind boggling; the stories are heartbreaking.  Beth Emet is doing our part to provide assistance by partnering with the National Museum of Puerto Rican...


Beth Emet is a diverse, multigenerational Reform community with a dynamic approach to Judaism. Our congregation seeks to create a spiritually vibrant, socially conscious, intellectually challenging, and deeply caring environment firmly rooted in Jewish tradition and values.

  • A Close Look at Torah

    with Rabbi Andrea London
    Fridays, October 20- June 8 (No class November 24, December 8, 22, & 29, January 12 & 26, March 30, April 6)
    9:30 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.
    There are many ways to interpret Torah and the nuances of meaning tha...

  • Teachings of Rebbe Nachman of Bratzlav
    with Rabbi Michael Balinsky
    Fridays, October 20 and 27, 10:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
    A Chasidic master and religious thinker, and a great-grandson of the Baal Shem Tov, the founder of Chasidism,...

  • With Rabbi Andrea London

    Shabbat,  October 14, November 11, December 16, January 20, February 3, March 10, April 14, May 12, June 9
    3:30–5:30 pm This class meets at Rabbi London's home.

    Once a month on Shabbat afternoon at R...

  • Drumming for Self-Renewal

    with Linda Schneider
    Wednesdays, October 18, November 15, December 20, January 17, and February 21

    7:30 - 9:00 p.m.

    How would it feel to take a break from the regimen and “noise” of everyday life and instead focus on renewal...

  • Jewish Mindfulness Meditation

    with the Center for Jewish Mindfulness at Orot
    Tuesdays at 7:30 p.m. at Beth Emet (please note this class will NOT meet: April 4, April 11, April 18, May 30, and July 4)

    Rabbi Jordan Bendat-Appell, Rabbi Sam Feinsmith, or o...

  • with Rabbi Peter Knobel
    Wednesdays, October 25 and November 1, 7:30 - 9:00 p.m.
    The Classical Reform Judaism of Peter Knobel’s youth had already evolved by the time he became Rabbi Knobel, in 1969. The transformation of the Ref...

  • with Rabbi Peter Knobel

    Fridays October 20 - April 13 | 8:00 – 9:00 a.m (No class, November 24, December 29, January 5, March 30, & April 6)

    This year we will continue reading Tractate Avodah Zarah, which deals with idolatr...

  • with Phyllis Richmond
    Monday, October 30, 7:30 – 9:00 p.m.
    Sitting comfortably can be easy! This class uses the Alexander Technique to teach ways to correct old habits so you can sit in a more relaxed, poised, and comfortable m...

  • with Rabbi Daniel Azulay
    Tuesdays, October 24 through December 12, 9:30 – 10:30 a.m.
    We will engage in conversational Yiddish, the language that was spoken in the home. On occasion we will refer to written material as well. The...

Beth Emet: The Free Synagogue Video